Arizona Amends Law on Final Pay

The Arizona Legislature has amended the law on the amount of time an employer has to pay wages to an employee who has been discharged.  

Arizona’s wage payment law has been amended to require employers to pay discharged employees final wages within seven working days or the end of the next regular pay period, whichever is sooner. Currently, employers must pay wages due a discharged employee within three working days or the end of the next pay period, whichever is sooner.

This change does not affect employees who quit the service of the employer.

The new law is effective 90 days after adjournment of the Legislature’s regular session. The session has gone over its usual 100 days this year, and for that reason, the effective date of this legislation is not yet known. The full text of the amended law, H.R. 2519, is available here.