Tax Filing Relief Extension for Colorado Flood Victims

The Colorado Department of Revenue (DOR) has extended the filing and payment deadlines to December 2, 2013, for taxpayers and tax professionals directly impacted by the flood and related disasters that occurred this past September. The DOR extended the deadline to allow businesses in the impacted areas to re-create records necessary to file accurate returns.

To qualify for relief, taxpayers and tax professionals must file with the Colorado Department of Revenue electronically by December 2, 2013 (if by mail, the letter must be postmarked by the December 2, 2013 deadline). The DOR is reprogramming its accounting systems to recognize taxpayers and tax professionals in the affected counties when they file returns between now and December 2, 2013. Those filing paper returns should write the word “Flood” in large letters at the top of the form.

The DOR has designated the following counties as places where taxpayers and tax professionals are eligible for the filing and payment deadline extension: Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, Broomfield, Chaffee, Clear Creek, Crowley, Denver, El Paso, Fremont, Gilpin, Jefferson, Lake, Larimer, Lincoln, Logan, Morgan, Otero, Park, Prowers, Pueblo, Sedgwick, Washington, and Weld. Additional information can be found at the DOR’s website by clicking here.