2016 Holidays

2016 Holiday.BLOG

Who doesn’t love a day off? While studies consistently show that employees who take time off are happier and more engaged, we know that employees often fail to take all of their vacation time each year. We can only hope the same does not hold true for company holidays!

Which paid holidays will employers observe during 2016? In our 2015 Miscellaneous Benefits Survey, all 503 organizations responding to this question provide paid holidays. The preliminary results are:

 

 

Arizona

Colorado

Wyoming

Number of Organizations with Holidays:

45

425

27

Wednesday, December 30, 2015

2%

6%

7%

Thursday, December 31, 2015

13%

17%

22%

New Year’s Day – Friday, January 1, 2016

100%

99%

100%

Martin Luther King Day – Monday, January 18

44%

38%

30%

Presidents’ Day – Monday February 15

38%

44%

30%

Good Friday Friday, March 25

22%

11%

15%

Easter Monday – Monday, April 28

2%

1%

–%

Memorial Day – Monday May 30

100%

100%

96%

Independence Day – Monday, July 4

100%

100%

100%

Labor Day – Monday, September 5

96%

99%

96%

Columbus Day – Monday, October 10

2%

11%

4%

Veteran’s Day – Friday, November 11

24%

23%

30%

Thanksgiving – Thursday, November 24

100%

100%

100%

Friday after Thanksgiving – November 25

78%

72%

63%

Friday, December 23 – Half Day

7%

8%

Friday, December 23 – Full Day

36%

34%

37%

Christmas Day Observance – Monday, December 26

96%

95%

96%

Tuesday, December 27

2%

8%

7%

Wednesday, December 28

2%

5%

4%

Thursday, December 29

2%

4%

4%

Friday, December 30

9%

11%

11%

New Year’s Day Observance – Monday, January 2, 2017

69%

64%

67%