Supreme Court Allows President’s Third Travel Ban to Take Effect

On December 4, 2017, the U.S. Supreme Court issued an order allowing President Trump’s third travel ban to go into full effect while legal disputes over the ban are ongoing.

Trump’s latest travel ban was announced on September 24, 2017, through Proclamation 9645 and imposed travel restrictions against nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, North Korea, Syria, Venezuela, Yemen, and Somalia. However, in October, preliminary injunctions issued by U.S. District Court Judges Derrick Watson of Hawaii and Theodore Chuang of Maryland significantly restricted the implementation of the ban against nationals of Chad, Iran, Libya, Syria, Yemen, and Somalia, while leaving intact the bars against nationals of North Korea and Venezuela.

In November, the Ninth Circuit Court of Appeals weighed in by relaxing the limitations imposed by the Hawaii court. It permitted enforcement of Trump’s travel ban to proceed except against individuals who had a bona fide relationship with a person or entity in the U.S. The Supreme Court’s recent order gives the Trump Administration the green light to enforce Proclamation 9645 against all the nationals of the eight countries named in the ban, without exception.