Are you a private employer with 50 or more employees in the State of Nevada? If you are, then you should prepare to comply with Nevada’s “Paid Leave For Any Reason” Law, also known as Senate Bill 312. The bill was recently signed into law by Nevada’s governor and goes into effect on January 1, 2020.
The bill’s basic provisions are as follows:
- Each employee must accrue 0.01923 hours of paid leave for each hour worked
- The paid leave must begin accruing from the first hour worked, but employers may limit use until the 90th day of employment
- Paid leave may be used without the employee providing a reason to their employer
- Employers may limit use to 40 hours annually, and may limit carryover to 40 hours from year-to-year
- Employers may also set minimum increments for use, but not to exceed four hours
Employers who have existing policies that provide at least the same level of paid leave benefit may continue to use those policies. In addition, employers do not have to extend paid leave benefits to temporary, on-call, or seasonal employees. Employers are also not required to comply with the law during their first two years of operation.
There will also be a posting requirement once a bulletin has been created by Nevada’s Labor Commissioner.
The Labor Commissioner can apply a penalty of up to $5,000 for each violation, or pursue misdemeanor charges.
Employers Council attorneys offer legal services for Nevada employers. For assistance with a policy to comply with Nevada’s new law, or with any Nevada policy, please contact the author.