Juneteenth Is Now a Federal Holiday

On Thursday, June 17, President Biden signed a bill establishing Juneteenth as a federal holiday. The holiday was first celebrated in Texas, where on June 19, 1865, in the aftermath of the Civil War, the last remote population to include enslaved people were declared free under the terms of the 1862 Emancipation Proclamation.

In the U.S., federal holidays are the days that the Federal Government is closed, with the exception of some essential workers. In fact, federal employees received Friday, June 18, 2021, as a paid holiday. Any non-federal employer is not required to provide a paid day off for employees but may choose to do so. According to Employers Council’s Paid Holiday Schedule, most employers do not observe every federal holiday but observe some. The top observed holidays are:

  • Memorial Day 99%
  • Labor Day 99%
  • Thanksgiving 99%
  • Christmas day 99%
  • New Year’s Day 98%
  • Independence Day 97%

Employers should consider whether they want to add this holiday to their paid time off. Employers Council can help; give us a call.